Ask and ye shall receive means, Ask and ye shall receive!

Standard

When was the last time you expected something from Jesus? We often go to Him and ask for things but when was the last time you really expected him to do it? Do we say thy will be done are we really saying, “I know you aren’t going to do it but I’ll ask anyway?” Why even ask if you don’t expect Him to fill that request? James 1:6-8 says “But when he asks, he must believe and not doubt, because he who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That man should not think he will receive anything from the Lord; he is a double-minded man, unstable in all he does.” Somewhere down the line we have gotten it into our minds that it is disrespectful or unfaithful to expect Jesus to grant us what we ask for in our prayers. To me it seems that it would be disrespectful to do anything but expect it to happen. I mean He has told us “You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it,” “Then the Father will give you whatever you ask in my name,” and “Ask and you will receive, and your joy will be complete.” That’s just in the book of John! Are you picking up a theme. Jesus says whatever you ask in my name will be given to you and James tells us when we ask we have to believe. I mean it can’t really me that easy can it? Why not? All we have to do to gain salvation is believe and be baptized, that’s pretty easy. If God’s power in and of itself is limitless, and God has said all I have to do is ask and believe, then the reason I’m not receiving is because of me not him. Will we get exactly what we ask for everytime? I don’t know maybe but what I do know is if we bring a need to Him and believe He will meet it, He will meet it better than we could have ever dreamed.  We are members of a blessed family who can only limit the blessings in life with our doubt. Stop doubting and start believing!!! Become the Target.

 

 

Leave a Reply

