Sharp Dressed Man

Standard

I don’t know if you noticed but I did a kind of half way experiment the last three weeks. I bought a couple of nice shirts and ties (they were on sale so it wasn’t that hard) and wore them on Sunday morning just to see what would happen. I got a lot of compliments and only one negative comment and while nice, that was not the point. I wanted to see if people treated me different or acted different because I was dressed up. I still hold firm to my belief that God doesn’t really care what we wear to church, but what I learned was that by wearing a tie I actually encouraged people. So when I added that to my belief that the reason God wants us to be at worship is because we need to encourage and be encouraged I had myself a little dilemma. For a while I was caught in the middle between clothes not mattering and how what I wore encouraged some one else. Then I realized, above all else I am supposed to be encouraging as many people as I possibly can at worship services, so by wearing nicer clothes I pleased God. Not of my clothes but because of what wearing those clothes did.  Now I know in class I’ve told you that it doesn’t matter to God what you wear to worship, and I still stand behind that. What I want you to think about is this: when you choose what you wear on Sunday who are you thinking about, yourself or others? God will not be offended if you wear a t-shirt to wait on the table, but some people in the congregation will. Now understand I’m not saying you need to wear a tuxedo and spats to church, all I’m saying is that next Sunday when you get up and look in your closet remember, your job is to be encouraging, are you dressing for yourself? Believe me when I say a little encouragement can go a long way. Become the Target.

Leave a Reply

