The wheels on the bus go round and round

Standard

I have spent and inordinate amount of time at the DMV the past month. I have been trying to get my license to drive Thor and it has not been easy. Since I am the first one to go through this process I have had the pleasure of making just about every mistake you can make. It took me a few tries but eventually I passed all the written tests with no lower than a 90%. I take the driving test Thursday so the process still isn’t over but I’m close to having my CDL. For the last month I have been reading the book they gave me at least once a day sometimes twice. Even with that when I got to the tests there were a lot of questions that I just had never seen any information about. After I failed one of them I went back and reread the section the information was supposed to be in. Sure enough there it was, one tiny sentence all by itself between two information packed paragraphs. The funny thing is, I don’t remember any questions coming from the two paragraphs. I had overlooked the important information because it wasn’t where I expected it to be. It made me wonder, how often do I overlook the important stuff in the Bible because its not where I think it should be? How many times do I overlook a message from God because it doesn’t come from the person I think it should? How often do I miss important pieces of information because it doesn’t match my idea of what God is or does? We all look at God through our own lenses and that’s unavoidable, but if we realize this we might also be able to adjust our focus to compensate for that and be able to see more of what He wants for us. I’m not saying its easy and I’m not saying I even know how to do that. What I AM saying is that if we can just be aware that we approach God with our own assumptions and prejudices that we might be able to see around them every once in a while. Oh the things we will see when we do! Become the Target!

 

Leave a Reply

