You are out of your element Donny

Standard

I was talking to to Abby Wednesday night about our class that night, and in our discussion something jumped out at me. “For who makes you different from anyone else? What do you have that you did not receive? And if you receive it, why do you boast as though you did not,” (I Corinthians 4:7) When you realize what people were doing to have Paul need to say this something utterly ridiculous comes to light. The best way I can think of to explain it is to tell you the hypothetical conversation that goes on in my head when I think about it. So imagine a guy talking with a bunch of his friends, the conversation goes like this. “So guys listen, I’ve had this great idea and I want to tell you about it. Well you know how we have that sin thing that God doesn’t like? Well what I came up with is, I’m going to have God send down a part of himself to be just like us, he’ll live a perfect life, and then when he’s in his 30’s I’ll have him give up his own life for our sins. So when we do the whole judgement day thing we’ll be good and we’ll get to go to heaven.”  Seems completely stupid right? How in the world could anyone take credit for coming up with the plan of salvation? The question is how often to we act like it was our idea? This isn’t just a Corinthian problem. When we take our own opinions of what scripture says and try to force them on other people its just like we are telling people, “I know this stuff better than you so you should listen to me.” The truth is, none of this was your idea. You came up with absolutely zero of it. In our approach to others we need to respect not only what the Holy Spirit reveals to you but also what is has revealed to others. You don’t have to agree with it but you do have to realize that just because you don’t agree with it doesn’t mean they are wrong. None of this is your idea, let God determine what He needs people to understand. Become the Target.

Leave a Reply

