All of it Off October!

Standard

As you may know, October is breast cancer awareness month. I know all of you already know how important this cause is to me. I’ve already told you all about why I shave my head. Galatians 6:2 says, “Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.” Now I pray that none of you ever have to know what its like to have go through chemotherapy or radiation treatment, but I WOULD challenge you to take on one of the side effects. Chemotherapy is an extremely painful treatment that attacks any cells that rapidly divide, like cancer. That means it also attacks things like your bone marrow, your stomach and digestive track linings, and your hair follicles. That doesn’t mean just the hair on your head. It means eyebrow and eye lashes. That means arm and leg hair (which you girls may see as a blessing). And that is something you COULD share in. Obviously you would need to discuss it with your parents but I would challenge you to go one month with no hair of your own on your head. Girls that would mean if you wanted to have hair during that month you would have to wear a wig. Guys you would have to do the same thing. Of everyone I have talked to the internal pain and sickness is almost tolerable, the worst part of chemo is having no hair. Currently I have 2 uncles fighting cancer. I lost a favorite aunt to breast cancer. My great grandmother had breast cancer at 80 years old. I’ve had an uncle with skin cancer. My “Granny” died of lung cancer. I lost my Granddad to leukemia. Cancer has ravaged my family. I’m sure many of you have similar stories. During this month I am especially mindful of them. It is my, possibly naive, belief that if we can figure out how to cure one kind of cancer, we would be able to figure out how to cure them all. During this month of October my bald head means more to me. I have long dreamed of having something like No Shave November, that promotes Prostate Cancer Awareness, for the month of October called All of It Off October. So think about it, and if you just can’t bring yourself to shave your hair off, think about that as well. Some people don’t have the option. Become the Target.

Leave a Reply

