It’s the Great Demon Pumpkin Charlie Brown!

Standard

I don’t know if any of you realize this but Halloween falls on a Wednesday this year. That’s right no free candy for you!!! It has put me in mind of the people in our fellowship that are vehemently opposed to celebrating Halloween in any form or fashion. I’ve heard of people having Harvest celebrations in place of it. They do this because they don’t like the perceived implications of pagan worship or Satanic overtones of Halloween. (Ironically Halloween was originally a pagan harvest celebration so there’s that.) Now I find the whole thing completely silly, BUT (notice it’s a big but) I would never encourage some one who felt this way to participate in anything they believed was wrong. Romans 14:22-23 says, “22 So whatever you believe about these things keep between yourself and God. Blessed is the one who does not condemn himself by what he approves. 23 But whoever has doubts is condemned if they eat, because their eating is not from faith; and everything that does not come from faith is sin.” (Yes I realize I didn’t keep it to myself but stay with me.) I think all too often we project our own morality onto other people and then criticize them when they don’t measure up to the standards we hold ourselves to. The thing that jumps to mind first when I say this is either how most of the vegan’s I know treat people who don’t eat like them, or how pretty much anyone in Texas treats a vegetarian. Please don’t forget that, even though we meet together a lot, Christianity is an intensely personal faith. You answer to God for the things you do, “…keep between yourself and God.” By the same token, so does everyone else in the world, they do not answer to you or to your personal morality. If we as Christians can become a community of people who are more interested in what God is doing in other people’s lives, and less in what they are doing wrong, I think it will be hard to keep people from being interested in what we are trying to do. I will continue to think that people oppose Halloween, because they think it has anything to do with anything other than dressing kids up and giving out candy, as kind of silly. But I will also continue to respect them for following their own convictions despite my appraisal. Become The Target!

Leave a Reply

