“You can’t know. You can only believe–or not.”

Standard

“Then Jesus told him, ‘Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed,” John 20:29. I had a conversation with a couple of friends over Twitter last week, not the best way to have a philosophical discussion by the way. I posted a quote from The Voyage of the Dawn Treader that said, “You can’t know. You can only believe—or not.” The base definition of know is to perceive directly. The scariest thing about Christianity to me is how little tangible evidence we have of what we believe. We have the written accounts of people who were able to “perceive directly” the things Jesus did, but we personally have not seen, heard, or touched him. One of my friends brought up I John 5:13 that says, “I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God so that you may know…” It’s what comes after the “…” that makes the difference. After the “…” John says, “…that you have eternal life.” It wasn’t talking about knowing that any of this is true, it assumed that you already believed that God existed, and that Jesus was His son. The thing about our discussion that stuck out most to me was when a friend asked, “Do you know that your wife loves you?” I of course do, but that is only because I have directly perceived her love. I can’t say I know that she loves anyone else, I can only say I believe that she does. And that’s when it hit me. I can’t convince anyone that God loves them, the have to experience it themselves, and God has chosen me to be the one that shows them that. I know that God exists because I have directly perceived His love for me. That’s the only evidence I have, and the only evidence I need. And God has told us all to love the people around us the same way. Trying to convince some one that Christianity is the best way to live might be the wrong approach, because so much of Christianity requires faith. “Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see,” Hebrews 11:1. The truth of Christianity is near impossible to prove without the other person having faith. If we can show people how much God loves them through our actions, we give them some one they can trust in, just like we trust that God is who He said He is and that He keeps his word. Teach love first and faith will follow. Become The Target

Leave a Reply

