It’s cute how smart you think you are.

Standard

This is my post for last week. I was out of town and didn’t post it! Hope you had a FANTASTIC Thanksgiving.

 

While I was running the other day, I came to an intersection where I had the walk safely light lit. As I went to cross the street an older lady started to turn right, thinking it was ok to do because she had only been watching the traffic in one direction and didn’t see me. As she almost hit me she yelled at me and I’m not sure about this but I’m pretty sure she flipped me off. Now I had the right of way but that ladies perception differed from mine. Lately I have noticed I have a real problem with road raging. I realized that my problem was that I was blaming everyone around me for not being able to do what I wanted to do. It didn’t matter that I do some of the same things they were doing to me, they were doing them to me. When it was brought to my attention by Abby it has really bothered me. So what I have had to do is change my thinking from “That guy won’t let me in,” to, “I can’t get over right now.” I had to change my perspective, and my goodness that is hard. What do the two stories have in common, other than bad driving? Perception. We’ve talked a lot about that already so I won’t explain that but I wanted you to think about this; Just because you think you are right doesn’t mean you are AND just because you think something doesn’t mean everyone else does too. “The way of fools seems right to them, but the wise listen to advice,” Proverbs 12:15. I’ve said it a hundred times but if you are not willing to be wrong you will continue to do the same things over and over again and never get different results. Einstein said, “Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” Even worse when you are unwilling to admit you can be wrong, you are telling God that you know better than him. “ For the foolishness of God is wiser than human wisdom…” I Corinthians 1:25. Basically even when you are at your smartest, God thinks you’re being silly. Humble yourself to the correction of a God that thinks Einstein and Steven Hawking are comedians. Become the Target!

Leave a Reply

