It’s the End of the World as We Know It

Standard

I have been thinking for the past two months about how to write this weeks article. What exactly do you say as you are leaving family that you love? How am I supposed to fit on one page how much I love each of you? How do I adequately express to you how much you have changed my life and how I am a better minister now because I have known you? How do I let you know that just because I’m not here doesn’t mean I won’t be there for you? What words do I use to communicate that you are forever in my life and in my heart? How do I help you understand that this isn’t the end, that our story continues on? Even though we may be apart it doesn’t change the fact the we are forever linked to each other. I have chosen to love you, and, as I told you in class, you can’t unmake that decision. I am leaving a part of my heart here with you. Please guard it and take care of it. Live your lives so that, when God calls us home, all of my heart makes it.
Things are about to change, and change is scary. Lean on each other for support, use the time that you have now to draw even closer. Remember not to become so tight that new people can’t get in. You truly are the best youth group in San Antonio everyone deserves to be a SPY agent. Who ever follows me up will be an extremely blessed minister.
To the parents I would say take this opportunity now to become more involved in the youth group. Your children need to be able to see you as something more than just their parents. They need to be able to see you as people too. You also have the chance to have a lot of fun with your kids. PLEASE take the opportunity to see how your kids really act, and despite what you think, they did in fact get everything they do from you. You have an amazingly spiritual group of kids here, have discussions with them and push them as they push you to grow spiritually.
To the congregation, please involve yourselves in these teens lives. The only way they are going to make it is if you give them people to look up to. The parents as well need the benefit of your experience, but you can do none of that if you do not actually know the kids. To put them on the spot I would say follow the example of Dick and Bobbye Porter. Make an effort to reach out to them. Find a common interest and invite them to participate with you. You don’t need to be a second parent or even a second grandparent but EVERYONE likes to be the Awesome Aunt and Uncle.
As we leave to start a new chapter of our lives, you start a new one as well. What is written on the pages is already known to God, but they are up to you to write. How this story continues depends on you. Continue with humbleness. Be willing to be wrong and be willing to seek guidance from where ever God provides it. Keep your heart open and let God protect it. We have been called to be a community of and known by love. Be Known By Love. Become The Target. I Love You.

Leave a Reply

